Monday, 24 October 2011

ICH Guidelines

The guidelines of ICH may be broadly categorized into four types-

Quality Guidelines
Safety Guidelines
Efficacy Guidelines
Multidisciplinary Guidelines


Quality Guidelines : Harmonisation achievements in the Quality area include pivotal milestones such as the conduct of stability studies, defining relevant thresholds for impurities testing and a more flexible approach to pharmaceutical quality based on Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP) risk management.

Safety Guidelines : ICH has produced a comprehensive set of safety Guidelines to uncover potential risks like carcinogenicity, genotoxicity and reprotoxicity. A recent breakthrough has been a non-clinical testing strategy for assessing the QT interval prolongation liability: the single most important cause of drug withdrawals in recent years.

Efficacy Guidelines : The work carried out by ICH under the Efficacy heading is concerned with the design, conduct, safety and reporting of clinical trials. It also covers novel types of medicines derived from biotechnological processes and the use of pharmacogenetics/genomics techniques to produce better targeted medicines.

Multidisciplinary Guidelines : Those are the cross-cutting topics which do not fit uniquely into one of the Quality, Safety and Efficacy categories. It includes the ICH medical terminology (MedDRA), the Common Technical Document (CTD) and the development of Electronic Standards for the Transfer of Regulatory Information (ESTRI).

Keywords: Quality Guidelines, Safety Guidelines, Efficacy Guidelines, Multidisciplinary Guidelines, CTD, ESTRI, MedDRA.


1 comment:

  1. Online universities offer Accredited life experience degree program on your work experience it is based on past life experience you can get degree by sending details to university as they required and get your degree without any difficulty